My HP keeps running away from me...

My battle pet's current stats are:

Level: 61

Hit Points: 80 / 126
Strength: AMAZING (88)
Defence: EXCELLENT (53)
Movement: GREAT (28)

(Yes I'm a BD newbie)

No matter what I do, my HP keeps running away from me! My most recent d'oh moment was when I fed him the cake that gives you HP before reading up what it did. Oops. And then I'm stuck training level again just so I can try to catch up and train defence or strength.

I'm THISCLOSE to just negg training those stats because it's driving me INSANE to always train level.

Are you labbing your pet? The lab ray tends to disproportionately increase HP (because it will never decrease it). If you want to give your pet time to catch up, stop labbing while you train level.

If you're far from the codestone bump, I'd suggest just biting the bullet and training level. Item training is awfully expensive and if you do a price comparison, you'll likely find that it's cheaper. Item training only makes sense for pets whose HP is WAY different than their level, or pets who have such a high level that each stat is expensive even with codestones.

you don't have to use stat increaser yet. it is too expensive for your current stat. normal training is fine for you. just stop labbing it AND don't have it as your active. Random events these days really love to knock your level down.

My lab rat (Acryingshametodothis) has the same problem. Her stats are

Level: 23

Health: 119 / 238

Strength: LEGENDARY (123)

Defence: EXCELLENT (42)

Move: AWESOME (77)

Intelligence: ULTIMATE GENIUS (193)

The lab seems to favor hit points, movement and strength but is awful for level and defence. *shrugs* not sure if there is much hope left for evening out her stats.