Battledome advice for an absolute beginner?

You're in luck! TDN has a whole section, called Battlepedia, dedicated to the Battledome. I found the Basic Weapon Sets super helpful. I ended up going with the Ridiculously Heavy Battle Hammer, Scroll of Ultranova, and Parasol of Unfortunate Demise just because they were super cheap.

But seriously, they have a really good walkthrough here: http://battlepedia.thedailyneopets.com/index.php/articles/index/

One thing that can't be stressed enough is to try not to buy your own codestones ESPECIALLY once you get into the 2-a-lesson range. Plenty of dailies and doing battles against the opponents you can easily beat should get you there. But if you insist, try to get them in bulk if the prices are good.

Along with the fact that you shouldn't bother with movement. It's useless. It's like a vestigial limb. It sounds helpful but it isn't. It only has its use in being able to use certain items that are crappy on their own to begin with. Same with intelligence.

Beyond that I'm not a veteran battler despite what my trophy area says on my userpage so I can't be much more help. :P Other than to peruse the battlepedia especially the training guide and the best ways to proceed with training.

Oh yeah don't be like me and turn your lab pet into a battle pet. The lab hated me and made my stats all much too high for the level so now I'm stuck trying to play ketchup, as it were.