Getting Your Education Online (Ask Me!)

Novelista

I know Pookies and some others have talked a little bit about online education, so I thought I'd make a thread...

===

My credentials: Bachelor of Science, Alternative Medicine -- Everglades University (2010) | certified pharmacy technician (ExCPT) -- 2013

I've also had experience with various correspondence schools and taking community college classes online. I'm familiar with both the Blackboard and Angel course delivery systems. I did my bachelors degree with dialup.

I'll spare you the accreditation rant unless (A) you want to hear it or (B) plan on going to graduate school with your online degree.

~*~

As they say on reddit: Ask Me Anything!

Absolutely nothing. Basically, unless you want to go to medical school (any medical school, although becoming a Naturopathic physician or a practitioner of Traditional Chinese Medicine is more advised), don't bother earning one. (It would make you overqualified to work for a chiropractor and most vitamin stores do their own training. Although you can get into grad school with it if you have good grades.)

~*~

I'm not going to go into the whole story with accreditation...it will make me pull my hair out.

To be very succinct, make sure your school is regionally accredited if you plan to transfer or go to grad school. (I can't emphasize that enough, unless to put it in bold/italicized/underlined 48pt, like I did the other day.) If it isn't, admissions officials will treat you like a second class citizen (or worse, a scammer, if they've had some bad experiences with your school) and be so cruel as to basically tell you that your degree isn't worth the paper it's printed on.

(Except for career schools, brick and mortar schools pretty much have to keep regional accreditation to keep running, so that's why you never hear much about it.)