I've lost my voice - help!

firaplays

I need some suggestions here. I have, completely out of the blue, lost my voice. There's nothing left. Not a peep can come out of my mouth right now. Seeing as I'm a teacher by trade and a singer as a hobby, this is a REALLY BIG PROBLEM. I've tried a bunch of things, but nothing seems to be helping. I'm drinking tea, eating way more ice cream than I'd like to admit, and sucking on cough drops all day, and nothing. Does anybody have any other ideas? Preferably safe ones.

You may just need to rest? Have you tried taking a nap or anything. If nothing seems to be working I'd go see a doctor and find out what's up. If could be a viral infection or something else. I know in my area there's a lot of junk going around.

Yeah, I've been resting all day :/ My co-workers thought I was crazy for even going in to work yesterday, they basically told me to stay home today. I'm definitely going to see a doctor if it's not better by Monday. but I really don't want it to have to come to that^^' 

Awww, I'm a teacher too, and I lost my voice on Tuesday.  Be grateful it's the weekend. First, and I'm sorry, but stop eating the ice cream, because the dairy actually will make it worse (same thing for eating dairy products before singing any time).  I've been drinking Lemon Zinger tea all week.  I had started to lose my voice on Monday afternoon, and a student went and brought me tea the next morning (which was awesome) and I had a bit of voice on Tuesday afternoon.  The cool thing is that when you whisper, the kids also whisper, which is really funny.  Also, your attempts to use your teacher voice with a crackly, noise-less sound really freaks them out and they will still get quiet.  Voice was poor all week, but usable by Wednesday. Dayquil helped too, even though I wasn't sick, just had lost the voice.